Poets’ Corner – “Compared with Christ”

This one comes from August Toplady (1740-1778):

1. Compar’d with Christ, in all beside,

No comeliness I see;

The one thing needful, dearest Lord,

Is to be one with thee.

2. The sense of thy expiring love

Into my soul convey;

Thyself bestow! for thee alone,

My all in all I pray.

3. Less than thyself will not suffice

My comfort to restore;

More than thyself I cannot crave,

Nor canst thou give me more.

4. Lov’d of my God, for him again,

With love intense I burn;

Chosen of thee, e’er time began,

I choose thee in return.

5. Whate’er consists not with thy will,

O teach me to resign;

I’m rich to all th’intents of bliss,

Since thou, O God, art mine!

What do you think?

