Couple Books to Throw Your Way

For as many books as I get to read, not many stand out as ones I would want to recommend to someone, let alone ANYone. Fortunately, I’ve got two going right now that have been very engaging reads and I happily encourage anyone to read, with the caveat that they have to do with two very different topics.

First, I’ve been reading Martin Meredith’s The Fate of Africa: A History of Fifty Years of Independence. This isn’t the first book on Africa that I’ve read, but it’s been very helpful in providing as full a picture of what the continent has seen in the years following independence. Not for the faint of heart, but not nearly as detailed in the gruesome details as compared to other books…but truth be told, the history of Africa during this period is written with the blood of many millions. Meredith’s produced quite a library of books on Africa and, based on what I’ve found in this one, I’m looking forward to reading the rest.

Secondly, I’ve just started into Wooden On Leadership for a second time, in which former UCLA hoops coach John Wooden lays out the core principles that have shaped his entire life. The news of his recent passing reminded me of how impressed I am with this man not so much for his resume as a basketball coach (which is very impressive), but more for the impression he left with so many as a man of great character. Reading this not just for myself, but also for use with my fellow elders and also the men of our church. I’ve tried to choke down more than my fair share of leadership books (of which this planet is plagued; PLAGUED I tell you), but this one really stands out from the crowd. Highly recommend!

What do you think?

