New Year’s Questions for Preachers

Great stuff from Colin at Unashamed Workman. You can read the whole article here.

Looking back at 2008:

  1. Did I grow in my own walk with God through my preaching and preparation?
  2. Did I provide my congregation with a balanced diet and at least some measure of ‘the whole counsel of God?’
  3. Did I take the glory or give God the glory?
  4. Did I preach the text, only the text, and nothing but the text?
  5. Did I constantly preach Christ and him crucified?
  6. Humanly speaking, what one aspect of my sermons in general was the weakest component?
  7. Did I pray enough and depend on God for the results?

And looking ahead to 2009:

  • Will I grow in my own walk with God through my preaching?
  • Will I provide my congregation with a balanced diet?’
  • Will I take the glory or give God the glory?
  • Will I preach the text, only the text, and nothing but the text?
  • Will I constantly preach Christ and him crucified?
  • Will I prayerfully depend on God during every stage of my preaching?
What do you think?

