“Pro-Life Politicians Have Made a Difference, Pro-Life Laws Work”

I’ve noticed a fair bit of static out there that seeks to undermine the significance of abortion as a determining factor in who you vote for by trying to paint the picture that previously elected pro-life politicians haven’t made much difference. Michael New begs to differ and has some data that seems to back him up:

During the past 35 years, the pro-life movement has made some real progress–progress that pro-lifers could at times do a better job of advertising. During the 1990s more states enacted parental-involvement laws, waiting periods, and informed-consent laws. More importantly, the number of abortions has fallen in 12 out of the past 14 years and the total number of abortions has declined by 21 percent since 1990. These gains are largely due to pro-life political victories at the federal level in the 1980s and at the state level in the 1990s, both of which have made it easier to pass pro-life legislation. Furthermore, since the next President may have the opportunity to nominate as many as four justices to the Supreme Court, the right-to-life movement would be very well advised to stay the course in 2008.

Read the entire article.

HT:JT

4 comments

  1. grr! This is a tough election. It has been quite heart-wrenching. I wish everything between democrats and republicans weren’t so opposite! I am 100% pro-life ..

    ..

    but McCain? Really? Palin? I mean.. really? The only thing that would get me to vote against Obama would be his pro-choice stance .. but with McCain being the only other real choice .. I can’t do it. Overall, I just believe McCain-Palin would be a horrendous combination leading this country .. and that Obama is a much better fit. Grrr! I suppose I could go on and on about why I think Obama’s ideas (who knows if they will ever come to fruition) are better, but there is no need. So to end it all .. I have to say I’m voting for Obama because this country does need to be unified – and even with his pro-choice beliefs, he is also better suited to discuss it with the opposite side… At least he’s not “for abortion” … bahhh

  2. I feel your pain, Nick…really. ideology aside, though, I wouldn’t be too hasty about McCain’s experience about working across the aisle. I am very concerned about the likelihood of a supermajority for the Democrats, which is a very strong possibility. as for Obama’s views on abortion, you might want to read up on the Freedom of Choice Act (FOCA) that he has promised to sign into law as one of the first things he does as president. in my mind this is a justice issue: the government should be protecting the lives of children not allowing them (as well as funding for them) to be taken away. in my opinion, the way abortion is championed in our country today is a social evil on the order of slavery, if not worse.

    besides that, I believe McCain brings superior qualifications to the table when it comes to the matter of leading the country through a resolution to the Iraqi conflict.

    McCain’s far from the perfect candidate and his pick of Palin looks worse by the hour, but I don’t see how I can vote in good conscience for Obama because of his abortion stance. otherwise, I’d be in the queue with the rest of you.

  3. It is hard for me to vote strictly on the abortion stance .. and that is what I would do if I voted for McCain. I voted for Bush for that simple reason .. as did many other Christians .. and look where that got us.

    It is a rough situation. I know about the Freedom of Choice Act.

    I guess what I just rely on is that God is sovereign.. even with abortions. Of course I don’t condone them at all .. but I do believe he watches over those children …

    sigh.

    It is tough .. and honestly I don’t see at all how McCain will win this election. Bush did in fact lose it for him .. because many Christians are not voting republican because of him – and the republicans don’t have a shot at winning unless they have a massive majority in the Christian vote.

  4. I was so close to voting for McCain. Although I had been undecided up until a week before the election… I decided that I could not, as a Christian vote for anyone who voted FOR partial-birth abortions to occur as Obama had.

    On election day I woke up with a new thought.

    Abortion has been legalized since 72′ (same year I was born). For 20 of of the past 32 years, we’ve had a Republican in the White House. There hasn’t been a Republican that hasn’t included in their campaign that they were against abortion.

    Where are we today on the issue? More babies are aborted today than ever before.

    When Reagan took office abortion had only been legalized for 8 years. This should have been easy to do away with then…. If he lifted a finger towards ending it just once in his 8 years… he may have successfully defeated this. Next, Bush Sr… he had 4 more years to lift his finger…. etc… Abortion will remain because everyone expects who they vote for will end it… they don’t, and it becomes part of the campaign 4 years from now.

    I ended up not voting all and am pleased with Obama as a choice… I would have been pleased with McCain as well….

What do you think?

